Thirds 2019 GF.png




The Beginnings

The concept was started by a group of friends. It started as a throwaway conversation, but soon gathered legs that this group could indeed start an Australian Rules football team. In its most primitive form, the Spartans was born out of casual Sunday training sessions in Camberwell. In the early days it consisted of 15 or so mates having a kick. This soon grew to a weekly ritual. Fast forward 6 months and the Spartans army grew to a playing list of approximately 40 people, going through the rigours of a solid pre-season. The Hawthorn "Spartans" are an affiliation of the Hawthorn Amateur Football Club. The Spartans formed the HAFC's Club 18 team and compete in the VAFA.


The Spartan DNA
Players display the Spartan Spirit - Intense, Ruthless, United and Strength. This group of Spartans have come together from a number of different backgrounds. Some have an existing Australian Rules background, others have been sons of the round ball while others have ventured from the basketball court. The Spartans have been fortunate enough to have a number of special guests involved with the club. Their role is to assist with training this team into understanding the AFL culture and making each member of the team a better footballer and person.


In 2020 the Spartans head into their 10th year of competition in the VAFA. It’s been an incredibly successful period with premierships in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018 and 2019. 


The following players have played in all 5 premierships

John Farrah

Ari Mitropoulos

Nick Criticos

Dean Korlos


Anthony Demetriou, Daniel Raponi, James (OX) Maddock and Tyson Barber have played in 4 premierships with Anthony Demetriou coaching the 5th Premiership.



To provide a fun, sociable atmosphere for all Club members, providing the necessary facilities, support structures and encouragement to allow all members the opportunity to reach their full potential in a great sporting culture.



Match Day

The team will play all matches on Saturdays. All home games are played at Rathmines Reserve in Hawthorn East. Match details will be posted in the Fixture section once this is known. We would love the support at all our home and away matches.



Every Wednesday night at St James Park from 6.30pm.

Coaching Staff

The Hawthorn Spartans have put together a solid coaching group. The group consists of a variety of people with different football backgrounds. Their efforts not only on the training track but off-the-field have been instrumental to the team being in the position that it is today.

The Spartans Coaching Group is ably lead by the following personnel:

  • Director of Football Phiv Demetriou – Level 2 Accredited Coach, Development Coach, Chairman of Selectors

  • Coaches Anthony Demetriou and John Farah, both level 1 Accredited and who are both working on their Level 2 Accreditation in 2020

  • George Demetriou – Level 1 Accredited and Selector

  • Peter Gillson, Level 1 Accreditation Runner and Selector

  • Terry Salipas, Player Positions Board on Game day

  • Alan Mok, Administration and Assistant Manager


Josh Anaf

Tyson Barber

Marcus Blainey

Tom Brikhia

Tony Brizzi

Dean Bubunaras

Michael Butta

Brendan Coutet

William Cowie

Nick Criticos

Mohammed Dabab

Anthony Demetriou

Will Diamantikos

Leon Dimopoulos

Will Eagle

John Farah

Chris Gabriel

George Gabriel

Jarryd Gaggin

Antonis Ioannou

Sotir Janev

Adam Karim

Dean Korlos

Theo Ktenas

James Maddock

Paul Makris

Dale Mitchell

Ari Mitropoulos

Ashwyn Mohandas

Alan Mok

Stanley Neohoritis

Con Pana

Daniel Raponi

Pete Siorovingas

Sam Speer

Dean Stratus

Nenad Subotic

Julian Ware

Tom White

Joe Giorgini

Ryan Sack

Andrew Lozanovski

Tom Dewit

Angelo Lekkas

Ang Christou

George Katavolos

Alex Pana

Matt Papadimitriou

Code of Conduct

Click here




Subject to change. Up to date information here.